The New York Composers Circle proudly announces its 16th John Eaton Memorial Competition, named in honor of our beloved long-time Honorary Member John Eaton (1935-2015), for solo or chamber ensemble works (1-4 performers). The competition is open to composers who live in the New York City metropolitan area, including contiguous areas of New Jersey or Connecticut, without age restriction. Current NYCC members and prior NYCC competition winners are ineligible to apply. The winning composition will be performed at one of the NYCC's concerts during the 2023-2024 season. The winner will also receive a one-year membership in the New York Composers Circle.

Submission Guidelines:

  1. Pieces should be scored for no more than 1-4 musicians for live performance (excluding harp, percussion, or exotic instruments)
  2. Pieces may include electroacoustic/electronic elements as one of the four instruments (not in addition to the four)
  3. Pieces should be between 5 and 15 minutes in length
  4. Pieces should not have been previously recognized as a winner or finalist in any other competition in the New York City Metropolitan area (including Westchester County, Long Island, Staten Island), New Jersey, or Connecticut.
  5. Pieces should not have been previously performed in the New York City Metropolitan area (including Westchester County, Long Island, Staten Island), New Jersey, or Connecticut.
  6. Submitters must be a resident (student or otherwise) in the New York City Metropolitan area (including Westchester County, Long Island, Staten Island), New Jersey, or Connecticut.
  7. Failure to comply with ALL of the guidelines will result in disqualification from this contest.

To Apply:

  1. Please submit a completed application form HERE.
  2. Include a PDF copy of one score of a solo or chamber ensemble work (1-4 performers)
  3. Include an MP3 or public site (YouTube, soundcloud, or vimeo) recording of a recent performance, or a computer realization
  4. Include a brief biography and program note


— The deadline for receipt of materials is midnight on Saturday, April 15, 2023

— Late or incomplete applications will not be accepted

— There is no fee to apply or enter the competition

— All decisions of the NYCC Selection Committee are final.

Announcement of the winning work(s) will be posted on our website and social media outlets (Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram) by June 30, 2023. Please check back here, or one of our social media pages (links below).

Please direct any questions regarding the competition or application process in an email to Hubert Howe, Executive Director at


2022: Patrick Andrew Thompson, Moments Sweep Past for soprano, cello, and piano

2021: No prize awarded

2020: Jeffrey Niederhoffer, Picking Up Where I Left Off for violin and piano

2019: Cheng Jin Koh, Ecstasy for clarinet, violin, cello, and piano

2018: Gilad Cohen, Three Goat Blues for string quartet

2017: Andrey Komanetsky, for String Quartet in Five Movements

2016: No prize awarded

2015: Ross Griffey, Tied by a Chance Bond Together, for violin and piano

2014: Vladimir Del Orbe, Contextual Enigma forclarinet, double bass, and piano

  • Honorable Mention: José Beviá, Trio No. 3 for Violin, Cello, and Piano
  • Honorable Mention: Jonathan Bingham, Quartet for Clarinet, Violin, Cello, and Piano

2013: Eric Segerstrom, Two Poems, for piano trio

  • Honorable Mention: David Brooks, 'Metamorphosis’ Variations, for prepared piano

2012: Jesse Diener-Bennett, Ninth for Two, for flute and violin

2011: Max Giteck Duykers, Glass Blue Cleft, for string quartet

2010: Scott D. Miller, Polychrome Stride, for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, and piano

2009: Elizabeth Lim, Wafting, for string quartet

2008: Co-winners Robert S. Cohen, The Mysterious Transformation of Johann B., for clarinet and 6 percussionists; Brian Fennelly "Sigol” for Two for two cellos

2007: Dana Dimitri Richardson, Ballade, for piano

  • Honorable Mention: Steve Cohen, Serenade for String Quartet
  • Honorable Mention: Marc-Antonio Consoli, Tre per Due for flute, clarinet, and piano
  • Honorable Mention: Alex Temple, Her Name Was Renée for clarinet, percussion, double bass, and piano